This Will Destroy You This Will Destroy You

presents: Tunnel Blanket - 10 Year Anniversary Performance of the Full LP + Opening Set by Christopher Tignor

Sat December 30th, 2023


Main Space

Minimum Age: 16+

Doors Open: 6:30PM

Show Time: 7:30PM

Event Ticket: $20

Day of Show: $25

event description event description

This Will Destroy You presents: Tunnel Blanket – 10 Year Anniversary Performance of the Full LP w/ Christopher Royal King, Christopher Tignor, Jesse Kees, Robi Gonzalez – Plus Special Guest Appearance by George Clarke of Deafheaven + String Quartet with an Opening Set by Christopher Tignor

Ticketing Policy

Proof of vax is NOT required for this event

the artists the artists

This Will Destroy You

This Will Destroy You are a Texan group who compose lengthy, atmospheric instrumental pieces utilizing a variety of guitar effects and dynamic changes. Incorporating influences such as shoegaze, ambient, and doom metal, they reject the “post-rock” label that is usually applied to them. Initially appearing with a well-received 2005 demo EP, Young Mountain, the group continued to evolve their sound through subsequent releases including the metal-influenced Tunnel Blanket (2011) and the drone-heavy Another Language (2014).

The band formed in San Marcos, Texas in 2005. Members Chris King (guitars), Jeremy Galindo (guitars), Raymond Brown (bass), and Andrew Miller (drums) came together under the notion of pursuing a purely instrumental project, and recorded their demo — which would end up being released as is — shortly after getting together. The EP, Young Mountain, was critically acclaimed, and the band inked a deal with Magic Bullet Records .

Brown was out of the band by 2007, replaced by Donovan “Dono” Jones, who took over bass duties as well as adding haunting Rhodes keyboards and other keyboard tones. Their self-titled full-length was released in 2008 and followed the next year by a split album with friends the Lymbyc Systym titled Field Studies. Around the same time Miller dropped out as drummer, replaced by new timekeeper Alex Bhore. The year 2010 saw the release of the EP Moving on the Edges of Things as well as the Communal Blood single.

The band progressively moved toward a dark hybrid of doom metal and shoegaze as the years went by. Proper second album Tunnel Blanket materialized in 2011 and saw release on the Suicide Squeeze label. Various remixes and appearances on compilations and film soundtracks kept This Will Destroy You busy, and they released a live album in 2013 with Live in Reykjavik, Iceland. Three years after Tunnel Blanket, and amid troubling times for the entire band, fourth album Another Language was released in the fall of 2014. The group kept busy touring during the next few years, and a single for the Another Language track “The Puritan” was issued in 2017, featuring a remix by Julianna Barwick . Two albums, New Others Part One and Two, were released in quick succession in 2018. ~ Fred Thomas, Rovi

Christopher Royal King

Christopher Royal King is a musician and composer based in California. He is a member of This Will Destroy You and has a number of solo and collaborative projects to his name.

His collaborative album ‘musica para nuevos tiempos’ with Chilean composer Nico Rosenberg is due to be released in Spring 2021 on INNI Music.

Christopher Tignor

Christopher Tignor (born March 15, 1976) is an American composer, musician, and software engineer based in New York City. A founding member of post-rock acts Slow Six and Wires Under Tension, Tignor is primarily known for his solo work as an electro-acoustic violinist “making computers coexist in harmony with acoustic instruments in a live setting”. Tignor has composed and recorded string arrangements for This Will Destroy You, John Congleton, Keith Kenniff, Lymbyc Systym, and more.

Jesse Kees

Jesse Kees is a Louisiana-born artist working in both aural and visual art. His background is in sound design and skateboarding.

George Clarke

George L. Clarke is a musician, writer and photographer best known as the founding member of acclaimed rock band Deafheaven.

Clarke is a founding member of the music and art collective Alto Arc.

As of 2023, Clarke has provided photography for Blue Note Recordings, Epitaph Records and more.

He currently resides in Brooklyn, NY.

Photo by Ebru Yildiz

similar artists