Inner Greatness performs the Music of John Lurie Inner Greatness performs the Music of John Lurie

with Sexmob @ 20, Tony Scherr, Briggan Krauss, Kenny Wollesen and Will Shore, Greg Saunier (of Deerhoof), Doug Wieselman & Adam Brisbin

Tue September 16th, 2014


Main Space

Minimum Age: 18+

Doors Open: 7:00PM

Show Time: 8:00PM

Event Ticket: $15

Day of Show: $18

See More
free for members
event description event description

On September 16 LPR will host Sexmob performing Lurie’s film music with special guest openers Inner Greatness. Sexmob, featuring Lounge Lizards collaborator Steven Bernstein, will perform music from Lurie’s vast catalog of film music that includes music from the films Stranger Than Paradise, Get Shorty, Animal Factory, Mystery Train, Down By Law, and many others. Greg Saunier (of Deerhoof) will bring his erratic trio to LPR as the opener. The trio features Adam Brisbin and frequent Lurie collaborator and ex-Lounge Lizard Doug Wieselman. They will perform Lurie’s music as well.
As part of Strange and Beautiful: The Music and Art of John Lurie festival
Interview with John Lurie on
Table seating for all seated shows is reserved exclusively for ticket holders who purchase “Table Seating” tickets. By purchasing a “Table Seating” ticket you agree to also purchase a minimum of two food and/or beverage items per person. Table seating is first come, first seated. Please arrive early for the best choice of available seats. Seating begins when doors open. Tables are communal so you may be seated with other patrons. We do not take table reservations.
A standing room area is available by the bar for all guests who purchase “Standing Room” tickets. Food and beverage can be purchased at the bar but there is no minimum purchase required in this area.
All tickets sales are final. No refund or credits.

the artists the artists


Inner Greatness performs the Music of John Lurie

Inner Greatness feat. Adam Brisbin, Doug Wieselman, and Greg Saunier
Greg Saunier on Twitter

Sexmob @ 20

Steven Bernstein – slide trumpet / Tony Scherr – bass / Briggan Krauss – saxophone / Kenny Wollesen – drums

Tony Scherr

Tony Scherr official site
photo credit: G. Paul Burnett/The New York Times

Briggan Krauss

Saxophonist, composer and sound artist Briggan Krauss has been a strong presence on the New York creative music scene since 1994. He is a founding member of the band Sexmob, has played on Grammy Award winning and nominated recordings, and leads several of his own projects as well as collaborating with many other improvisers and composers in New York City and around the world. He is currently an MFA student in Brooklyn College’s “Performance and Interactive Media Arts” [PIMA] program.
photo credit: Brian Smith

Kenny Wollesen and Will Shore

Kenny Wollesen (Bill Frisell, John Zorn, Tom Waits) and Will Shore (Tomboy, Shore) come together on two vibraphones to improvise and create wide-open original music. All 8 of their mallets swing real loose between freedom and precision: raucous polyrhythmic grooves and sharp dissonant lines lead into floating melodic rolls.

The duo’s unique sound comes from the mix of Kenny’s acoustic vibraphone with Will’s electric one, which is fitted with contact mics to create a timbre much like his solo production work (Shore).

Between Will’s manipulation of the vibes through pedals/electronics and Kenny’s vibrant and propulsive playing that you’ve heard on so many albums, the duo is sure to create an unpredictable noise and lively rhythmic interplay (though nothing else is certain).


Will Shore official site | Will Shore on Soundcloud | Will Shore on Twitter | Will Shore on Instagram


Kenny Wollesen is a drummer, vibraphonist, percussionist and instrument builder based in New York City. He is the founder of the Wollesonic Laboratories and the mastermind behind Sonic Massages and the Himalayas marching band. He has worked with Bill Frisell, Norah Jones, Tom Waits, Ben Goldberg, Steven Bernstein, Jonas Mekas, Butch Morris, Ilhan Ersahin, Hal Wilner, John Medeski, JIm Hall and has been a vital member of John Zorn’s ensembles and projects for over 20 years.

Greg Saunier (of Deerhoof)

Doug Wieselman

Doug Wieselman – has worked as composer, arranger and musician with a variety of artists in different fields – in theater – with director Robert Woodruff and the Flying Karamazov Brothers, in dance with Jerome Robbins and Paul Taylor, and as musician with Victoria Williams, Robin Holcomb, Wayne Horvitz, Lou Reed, Tricky, Anthony Coleman, Laurie Anderson, Syd Straw, Steven Bernstein, Joan as PoliceWoman & John Lurie, among many others. He is currently composing music for the animated Nickelodian show “The Backyardigans” in association with Evan Lurie.

Adam Brisbin

In 2012, Brisbin began working with Jolie Holland on her upcoming release, “Wine Dark Sea”. Recently he worked with Hal Willner, Doug Wieselman and Jim White to create the music for Robert Wilson’s “The Old Woman”. Adam performed at the Museum of Modern Art as part of the summer concert series MoMA Nights. His new project OLD WOMAN features Doug Wieselman (Lou Reed) and Greg Saunier (Deerhoof).

similar artists