LPR X: Taka Kigawa – Music of Aucoin, Furrer, Yamane, Berio LPR X: Taka Kigawa – Music of Aucoin, Furrer, Yamane, Berio

Mon August 27th, 2018


Main Space

Minimum Age: All Ages

Doors Open: 6:00PM

Show Time: 7:00PM

Event Ticket: $20 / $25

Day of Show: $25 / $30

event description event description

Taka Kigawa – Music of Aucoin, Furrer, Yamane, Berio
Table Seating: $25 advance, $30 day of show
Standing Room: $20 advance, $25 day of show

6:00pm doors | 7:00pm show | all ages

Illuminated Baby (2015), Akiki Yamane (b. 1982)

Piano Sonata (2001), Luciano Berio (1925-2003)

Three Etudes (2014), Matt Aucoin (b. 1990)
1. rondo which devours itself
2. currents
3. a sounding

Phasma (2002), Beat Furrer (b. 1954)

The New York Times recommendation: 6 Classical Music Concerts to See in N.Y.C. This Weekend – The New York Times
“Many of Mr. Kigawa’s most recent New York recitals have focused on one composer — either Boulez or Messiaen. But there’s a welcome spread to this one, which looks at three generations of composers: Luciano Berio, Beat Furrer, Akiko Yamane and Matthew Aucoin.

The New Yorker recommendation: Taka Kigawa – The New Yorker
“Kigawa, an intrepid pianist of boundless curiosity and skill, is also a diligent advocate for composers. Here, he surrounds the Italian master Luciano Berio’s Piano Sonata—a titanic late-career work from 2001—with an enticing mix of pieces by the Swiss-born Austrian innovator Beat Furrer (“Phasma”) and two younger composers of vast imagination, Akiko Yamane (“Illustrated Baby”) and Matthew Aucoin (Three Études).

Taka Kigawa 8/27

Ticketing Policy


Table seating for all seated shows is reserved exclusively for ticket holders who purchase “Table Seating” tickets. By purchasing a “Table Seating” ticket you agree to also purchase a minimum of two food and/or beverage items per person. Table seating is first come, first seated. Please arrive early for the best choice of available seats. Seating begins when doors open. Tables are communal so you may be seated with other patrons. We do not take table reservations.

A standing room area is available by the bar for all guests who purchase “Standing Room” tickets. Food and beverage can be purchased at the bar but there is no minimum purchase required in this area.

All tickets sales are final. No refund or credits.

the artists the artists

Taka Kigawa

Taka Kigawa official site

Critically acclaimed pianist TAKA KIGAWA has earned outstanding international recognition as a recitalist, soloist, and chamber music artist since winning First Prize in the prestigious 1990 Japan Music Foundation Piano Competition in Tokyo, and the Diploma Prize at the 1998 Concurs Internacional Maria Canals De Barcelona in Spain, with such accolades from The New York Times as “Phenomenon. There’s no denying that he is something special,” “The extraordinary pianist.” and from The New Yorker “Unbelievably challenging program. Kigawa is an artist of stature.” and from La Nación (Buenos Aires) “Taka Kigawa is a stupendous virtuoso.” His New York City recital in 2010 was chosen as one of the best concerts of the year by The New York Times. His New York City recital in August 2011 was picked as one of the most notable concerts in the 2011-2012 season by Musical America. Also his Buenos Aires recital in April 2014 was chosen as one of the best concerts of the year by Argentina’s leading paper, La Nación.

He has performed extensively as a recitalist and soloist in New York, Washington DC, Boston, Cleveland, Paris, Milan and Barcelona, with appearances in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall, Alice Tully Hall, Kosciuszko Foundation, Severance Hall in Cleveland, Cité de la Musique, and Salle Gaveau in Paris, Plau de la Música Catalana in Barcelona, and Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires. He frequently tours in his native Japan, appearing in Tokyo, Osaka, Nagano and Kyoto, both as a recitalist and a soloist with orchestra and in chamber music groups. He has performed with such distinguished institution as The Cleveland Orchestra. He has been a featured artist on many television and radio networks throughout the U.S., Europe and Asia.

His repertoire is extremely large and varied, ranging from the baroque to avant-garde compositions of today. He has collaborated closely with such renowned musicians as Pierre Boulez, Myung-Whun Chung and Jonathan Nott. Also he premiered the last solo piano piece of Yusef Lateef, the jazz legend, in New York City in 2013.

Mr. Kigawa grew up in Nagano, Japan, where he began piano studies at the age of three, winning his first competition at the age of seven. He received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Shinsyu University, and his Master of Arts degree from Tokyo Gakugei (Liberal Arts) University, graduating with honors in Piano Performance. During both his undergraduate and graduate years, he also studied composition and conducting, receiving high honors in both disciplines. He furthered his studies in the United States at The Juilliard School in New York, where he earned his Master of Music degree. Mr. Kigawa currently lives in New York City, U.S.A.

Review for Taka Kigawa’s latest concert at (le) Poisson Rouge: Review: Taka Kigawa Masters the Conflicting Rhythms of Ligeti – The New York Times

similar artists