LPR Presents at Nublu: EXO Sessions – 4 X 4 March Residency LPR Presents at Nublu: EXO Sessions – 4 X 4 March Residency

Wed March 22nd, 2017



Minimum Age: 21+

Doors Open: 7:00PM

Show Time: 8:00PM

Event Ticket: $12

Day of Show: $15

event description event description

Click here to purchase four-day passes for 3/8, 3/15, 3/22 & 3/29

**This is a general admission event at Nublu: 151 Avenue C, Manhattan**

The musical forces that brought you last year’s large ensemble phenomenon EXO-TECH present a month of exceptionally crafted improvisational evenings of sonic interplay, the EXO sessions. Featuring some of the cities most distinctive and innovative music luminaries, the sessions will explore otherworldly rhythms and hypnotic melodies from all-star combinations of improvising creative musicians. Across the month of Wednesdays, curator and EXO bandleader, Australian musician Sophia Brous and co-banshee Kimbra present four line-ups of incredible guests and collaborators to weave worlds together in sonic communion.

Stuart D. Bogie (Arcade Fire, Superhuman Happiness)
Sophia Brous
Brian Chase
Trevor Dunn (Fantomas, Mr Bungle)
Greg Fox (zs)
Simon Hanes (Tredici Bacci)
Cleek Schrey
Alex Toth (Rubblebucket, Alexander F)
Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs)

Performers include
Hisham A. Bharoocha, Sophia Brous, Brian Chase, Benjamin Lazar Davis, Trevor Dunn, Shahzad Ismaily, Mikey Freedom Hart, Greg Fox, Jeremy Gustin, Simon Hanes, Dave Harrington, Lars Horntveth, Cole Kamen-Greene, Kimbra, Danny Meyer, Matt Mitchell, Marc Ribot, Greg Saunier, Cleek Schrey, Alex Toth, Doug Wieselman, Spencer Zahn and many more mystery guests.

the artists the artists


EXO on Facebook | EXO on Instagram

EXO is a creative ensemble collective formed in New York in mid-2016.

Originally formed so a group of improvising musician friends from touring bands could come together to play otherworldly improvised sets of rhythmically driven ‘exotica techno’ in-the-round, the group quickly formed into a collective entity under the moniker EXO-TECH, performing a series of sold-out shows through mid to late 2016 before being invited to be the inaugural artists in residence of the Red Bull Studios New York.

The EXO sensibility weaves a distinctive palette spanning contemporary and formal music influences, bringing together a cast of gifted musicians as influenced by jazz, large ensemble improvisation, film music, contemporary classical, new composition, big band and free improvisation, as they by modern pop, rnb, hip hop, afrobeat, industrial, post-punk exotica and avant folk.

Led by NY-based Australian musician/musical director SOPHIA BROUS with NZ singer/producer KIMBRA, the revolving cast of collaborating artists includes some of New York’s most innovative music luminaries, including Yuka Honda, David Byrne, Questlove, Mauro Refosco, Doug Weiselman, Jeremy Gustin, Colin Stetson, Benjamin Lazar Davis, Bilal, Danny Meyer, Jared Samuel, Caroline Polachek, Sarah Neufeld, Pete Drungle, Sean Ono Lennon, Dave Harrington, Spencer Zahn, Cole Kamen-Green, Cleek Schrey, Miho Hatori, Ian Williams, Moses Sumney, Greg Fox, Brian Chase, Charlotte Kemp Muhl, Stuart Bogie, Ernie Brooks, Peter Zummo, Casey Dienel and many others.

EXO Musical Director: Sophia Brous

similar artists