Calefax: Garden of Earthly Delights Calefax: Garden of Earthly Delights

Sun January 26th, 2014


Main Space

Minimum Age: All Ages

Doors Open: 8:00PM

Show Time: 9:00PM

Event Ticket: $15/$20/$25

See More
free for members
event description event description

The world-famous painting Garden of Earthly Delights by Hieronymus Bosch is the starting point for this concert programme. The themes of Paradise, Delight and the Final Judgment are brought to life musically. A video of the painting is projected on a giant transparent globe. In this way Calefax zooms in on the painting of Bosch, not only musically but also visually.
Calefax takes the audience on an aural and visual journey through the Garden of Earthly Delights, from the earthly paradise, via the sinful life full of lust and pleasure, into the darkness. The different panels of the painting are echoed in musical sets. The programme consists of contemporary music by the Dutch composer Jacob TV and the German composer Carola Bauckholt, as well as compositions from the era of Hieronymus Bosch. The many birds in the painting form a leitmotiv across the programme. They are brought to life by the music of Rameau and Bauckholt.
Calefax tells the story of the Garden of Earthly Delights, by means of a special range of musical compositions, combined with video projection on a giant globe. The video zooms in on the triptych in a spectacular way, showing details of the painting that normally escape the attention of the spectator. From the fairylike paradise depicted in the left panel, through the bizarre and often erotic images on the middle panel, to the dark and terrifying scenes of the right panel.
Guillaume de Machault – Hoquetus David
First tableau
Jacob TV – Garden of Love
Jean-Philippe Rameau – Rappel des oiseaux
Antoine Brumel – Nato Canunt Omnia
Second tableau
Carola Bauckholt – Zugvögel
Third tableau
Franz Liszt – Trübe Wolken, Die Trauergondel
Jacob TV – Jesus is coming
Josquin Desprez – Nymphes de bois
Oliver Boekhoorn, oboe
Ivar Berix, clarinet
Raaf Hekkema, saxophone
Jelte Althuis, bass clarinet
Alban Wesly, bassoon
Annechien Koerselman, staging & video design
Seated: $20 advance, $25 day of show
Standing: $15 advance, $20 day of show
Table seating for all seated shows is reserved exclusively for ticket holders who purchase “Table Seating” tickets. By purchasing a “Table Seating” ticket you agree to also purchase a minimum of two food and/or beverage items per person. Table seating is first come, first seated. Please arrive early for the best choice of available seats. Seating begins when doors open. Tables are communal so you may be seated with other patrons. We do not take table reservations.
A standing room area is available by the bar for all guests who purchase “Standing Room” tickets. Food and beverage can be purchased at the bar but there is no minimum purchase required in this area.
All tickets sales are final. No refund or credits.

the artists the artists


Calefax: Garden of Earthly Delights

Calefax, established over 25 years ago, are now in great demand worldwide, not least because of their unique instrumentation. The quintet performs standing up and always introduces itself and the programme to the audience. Most importantly, the five musicians arrange, recompose and interpret music from eight centuries to suit their unique constellation: from early music to classical and jazz to world premières; in the hands of Calefax it all sounds fresh and new.

similar artists