EXO on Facebook | EXO on Instagram

EXO is a creative ensemble collective formed in New York in mid-2016.

Originally formed so a group of improvising musician friends from touring bands could come together to play otherworldly improvised sets of rhythmically driven ‘exotica techno’ in-the-round, the group quickly formed into a collective entity under the moniker EXO-TECH, performing a series of sold-out shows through mid to late 2016 before being invited to be the inaugural artists in residence of the Red Bull Studios New York.

The EXO sensibility weaves a distinctive palette spanning contemporary and formal music influences, bringing together a cast of gifted musicians as influenced by jazz, large ensemble improvisation, film music, contemporary classical, new composition, big band and free improvisation, as they by modern pop, rnb, hip hop, afrobeat, industrial, post-punk exotica and avant folk.

Led by NY-based Australian musician/musical director SOPHIA BROUS with NZ singer/producer KIMBRA, the revolving cast of collaborating artists includes some of New York’s most innovative music luminaries, including Yuka Honda, David Byrne, Questlove, Mauro Refosco, Doug Weiselman, Jeremy Gustin, Colin Stetson, Benjamin Lazar Davis, Bilal, Danny Meyer, Jared Samuel, Caroline Polachek, Sarah Neufeld, Pete Drungle, Sean Ono Lennon, Dave Harrington, Spencer Zahn, Cole Kamen-Green, Cleek Schrey, Miho Hatori, Ian Williams, Moses Sumney, Greg Fox, Brian Chase, Charlotte Kemp Muhl, Stuart Bogie, Ernie Brooks, Peter Zummo, Casey Dienel and many others.

EXO Musical Director: Sophia Brous