Bearthoven Bearthoven

Bearthoven official site

Bearthoven [ \’bâr-toh-vən\ ] is a piano trio creating a new repertoire for a familiar instrumentation by commissioning works from leading young composers. Karl Larson (piano), Pat Swoboda (bass), and Matt Evans (percussion) have combined their individual voices and diverse musical backgrounds to create a versatile and virtuosic trio focused on frequent and innovative commissioning of up-and-coming composers.

Formed in 2013, Bearthoven has quickly established themselves as a forerunner in the New York City contemporary music scene. Commissioning 20 new works in their first four seasons, the trio has created its own diverse repertoire ranging from the driving, post-minimal voices of Ken Thomson, Brooks Frederickson, and Brendon Randall-Myers to the atmospheric and abstracted offerings of Fjola Evans, Adrian Knight, and Anthony Vine. Their debut album, Trios, will be released on Cantaloupe Music this coming May 5, 2017. Find Bearthoven on the web for more information about future projects and commissions.