On the Rise at LPR On the Rise at LPR

with New Myths, BRAEVES & Parrot Dream

Tue August 11th, 2015


Main Space

Minimum Age: 18+

Doors Open: 7:00PM

Show Time: 8:00PM

Event Ticket: $10

event description event description

This is a general admission, standing event.

the artists the artists


On the Rise at LPR

New Myths

New Myths official site | New Myths on Facebook | New Myths on Instagram | New Myths on Twitter

Blending fuzzy rock guitars with synthesizers and haunting vocal harmonies, NEW MYTHS create a sound that catches you and keeps you. A Brooklyn-based power trio with a new wave/grunge/pop sensibility, NEW MYTHS is the collaboration of Brit Boras (guitar/lead vocals), Rosie Slater (drums/vocals), & Marina Ross (bass/vocals).

The trio set out to write music that they loved, and started by combining elements of bands that influenced them such as Garbage, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Nirvana, The Pretenders, Alanis Morisette, Hole, and The Bangles. They have cumulatively performed & recorded with other bands such as Frank Ocean, Total Slacker, Steve Van Zandt, Frankie Rose, Future Punx & Kristin Kontrol.

After releasing their self-titled EP in 2012, their song “False Gold” was featured by Lou Reed on his XM radio station as well as in surf company REEF’s spring ad campaign. In 2014, NEW MYTHS released their debut album “Give Me Noise” via their own imprint Taming Ghosts. Building a following with a powerful live show, both The New York Times and The Gaurdian wrote up NEW MYTHS as top performers to see at CMJ Music Festival 2014. Since then, NEW MYTHS have opened for major acts such as Metric & Warpaint. They are currently recording their follow-up release.


Hailing from Long Island, BRAEVES creates music that seems to personify a blissful illumination, harmonizing melodies that inspire. They inhabit an alternate universe — the unlikely union of the basement and the astral plane with each song being its own winding journey. Their blend of Soulful Indie Rock and Pop is reminiscent of bands such as The Shins and Grizzly Bear.
The band started with long-time best friends Ryan Colt Levy and Derek Tramont, experimenting through the years with different styles and sounds. It wasn’t until they were joined by Thomas Killian McPhillips IIV in late 2012, where they began crafting a unique sound they can call their own and found themselves working on their next release.
At the start of 2014 the band joined forces with Producer Mike Watts (As Tall as Lions/The Dear Hunter) to record their debut E.P. entitled “Drifting by Design”, which was released on 9/9/14. Now with new guitar player Nick LaFalce, they are making a push to get back on the road to represent their most imaginative work yet.
“A nugget of indie rock gold” – CMJ
“It manages to tell the tale of that most surreal and ambling journey, remaining firmly planted in the present while at the same time boundlessly moving forward, unstoppable as life. It is BRAEVES’ arduously crafted design that gives this ode to a drifting trajectory the capacity to soar.” – Audiofemme
BRAEVES official site
BRAEVES on Facebook

Parrot Dream

Parrot Dream official site | Parrot Dream on Facebook | Parrot Dream on Twitter | Parrot Dream on Soundcloud | Parrot Dream on Instagram | Parrot Dream on Bandcamp | Parrot Dream on Spotify

Formed at the end of 2013 in Santiago, Chile, Christina Appel and Gonzalo Guerrero brought their hazed, dreamy sound to Brooklyn, NY. Since their move, Parrot Dream has performed at venues in throughout New York. as well as made Festival appearances at Northside Festival, BK Wildlife Fest, and the CMJ Music Marathon. 

Parrot Dream was named one of the “Best New Bands” by Argentina’s Mute Magazine, listed amongst the “Best Indie Bands from NYC” by The Deli Magazine, and their singles “Sound & Light” and “Come Home” have been featured by Hype Machine blogs and other publications.

Their debut EP “Set Sail Someday” was released in 2014 on the Chilean label Beast Discos. In late 2015, Parrot Dream released the Side A/Side B Single “Jungle”. Over the past year, they recorded their first full length EP, set to come out early 2018. Current band members also include Matt Sklar and Rony Bonilla.

similar artists